Taylor Swift to be honored as Songwriter - Artist of the Decade in Nashville

August 20, 2022

Taylor Swift is "constantly discovering new forms of artistic expression," comments Keith Urban.
Taylor Swift will be honored as Songwriter – Artist of the Decade at this year's Nashville Songwriter Awards.

The pop star — who started her career in country — is being honored for the continued success of her "Nashville-related songs," which have appeared on various Billboard charts, including Country Airplay and Pop Songs, since 2010. until 2019.

The Songwriter - Artist of the Decade award is given to songwriters who are also the artists who have recorded the songs they wrote.

While Taylor Swift has been active in the pop scene for years, some of her songs still appear on the country charts, such as "Betty," "All Too Well (Taylor's Version)," and "I Bet You Think About Me."

New recordings of her albums 'Fearless' and 'Red' also recently topped the country album charts.

Taylor Swift will officially receive her award at Nashville's iconic Ryman Auditorium on September 20.

In a statement, Taylor Swift's friend Keith Urban says of her songwriting skills: “A great songwriter can make you see the flowers in a song. A great songwriter can make you see and feel them. But, a truly talented songwriter will make you see, feel and smell the roses in the window. This is Taylor."

“She's constantly mining, digging, excavating, discovering new forms of artistic expression and moving forward in such a way that I'm not sure if she's fearless or if she can just fragment fear. What's the difference anyway?” he adds.

The fifth annual Nashville Songwriter Awards, which will be held at the Ryman Auditorium on September 20, are expected to take the stage with more than 20 artists to honor the creators and recipients of the awards.

Artists performing include Jordan Davis, Little Big Town, Luke Combs, Parmalee, Alana Springsteen, Pat Alger, Tony Arata, Babyface, Kent Blazy, Jacob Davis, Gayle, Hardy, Walker Hayes, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins, Matt McGinn, Thomas Rhett, Matt Rogers, Jenn Schott, Nathan Spicer, Matthew West and others.